Maybe it's because I'm already thousand miles high that it finally hit me, yeah, I'm on a plane (for the first time) and leaving for 11 whole months... Leaving my family, my friends, my routine, everything I know... And I'm only 17?
Let me just say this plane is da shit. Not even kidding, KLM you made this first experience begin with a pretty good start. Yeah, my flight got delayed but that had nothing to do with the company. And yeah, the two Chinese people sitting beside me make me feel like they are talking about me but so what? It's fun and they've been lovely to me, plus movies and music on demand is everything I never knew I wanted (finally got to see The Force Awakens, sorry Cami)...
This post isn't that philosophical or deep or anything, I don't have a lot to analyze, I'm just too happy to think about anything else! I'm meeting my first host fam and my third hostsis and I just can't wait. Danes are known for being cold people (maybe they are, I still have 11 months to figure that out) but every Dane I've gotten the opportunity to talk to has been really nice to me, even if they didn't know anything about me yet...
As of right now I still have like 8 hours until I get to Amsterdam and boy has my butt completely flattened for life. I didn't cry that much when saying goodbye to my family, which to be honest surprised me, but I guess I know they'll always be there, and the whole day felt like a huge goodbye... But yesterday (as of Friday)? I don't think I stopped crying not even for one second. Goodbyes are hard yes, very, but how sad can I get when it's overweighed by how awesome it feels to turn this dream into a reality...
There are so many people I have to thank for this opportunity, not all the posts in the world would be enough.
------------
Okay so I wrote that while I was on my way to Amsterdam on Saturday night/Sunday really early... And gotta update now!!
Amsterdam was amazing! The airport is beautiful and HUGE, there are shops literally everywhere and it takes a good ten minutes to go from one gate to the other...
By the time I got to Aalborg I was so tired I didn't even get nervous, I just wanted to get home. My first host fam and my hostsisters from the third host family were there and they all received me so so so warmly. I drove with my hostsisters so I got to know them a bit and we talked about a lot of stuff, they're both really cool and funny. Then we got to Pindsvinekrattet (I think that's how you spell it, blame me and my terrible danish) which is the neighborhood/street where I live, and it's so pretty! Actually everything in Denmark is beautiful 😍 we had dinner (I loved it) and licorice ice cream afterwards... I didn't like licorice the first time I tried it back in Argentina but I gotta say that ice cream was not bad!
And then I slept... And God I slept SOOO much, woke up at like 3pm! Had brunch (Almuerzayuno) and Danes eat so many different things!! My counselor came while I was taking a shower and I didn't know! So he had to wait for me, which wasn't good because I know danes are very punctual and argentinians are not, at all 😂 And then I unpacked, I already feel at home here :) We ate dinner at like 6:30 (yeah, so early, nothing like the 11pm dinner back in Argentina) and it was really good... If I keep liking absolutely everything I eat my clothes won't fit anymore!!
Some time later Jørgen and Sigurd showed me the way to my school, through the woods and literally everything is so green here! My school is beautiful from the inside and the outside, I loved it.
It's a great feeling to finally be here, I feel at home and everyone has been extremely nice, I'm so happy and I already don't want this year to be over! True, I miss my people back home but this is the happiest I've been in my life! So life is good right now :)
Have fun, be safe, don't get caught!
No comments:
Post a Comment